HomepageHowcomyoucomRaceandHistoryRootsWomenTrinicenter
Homepage
Rastafari Speaks Archive
Buy Books
ARCHIVE HOMEMESSAGE BOARDREASONING FORUMARTICLESNEWS WEBLOG

Read Only : Rastafari Speaks Reasoning Archives

Rastafari Speaks Archive 1

Re: Weed Bashing Counter-attack

Thought I'd respond as I'm a writer as well, who's just finished a novel (minus editing and revision). About half of it was written "under me sensi" and about half was written "straight" (well, all of it was written under the influence of coffee which I am totally addicted to and find it hard to wake up properly without, no matter how much sleep I might have gotten the night before.)
I see what you are saying about the tangential thinking that ganja can encourage. To me it's great for brainstorming ideas and starting out a story when I don't know where the story's going yet, not so great for developing the story in a pre-planned way or for working on the little details and smoothing out the kinks. Although there were parts of the pre-planned writing that I did under sess, and parts of the brainstorming that I did "straight". Sometimes it seems to me that I write better, more fluidly, and the process of writing is more enjoyable when I have a *small* amount of ganja in my system. But looking back over the whole thing now, I can't detect any difference at all in terms of quality [admittedly subjective] between the parts I wrote "high" and the parts I wrote "sober".