Homepage
Rastafari Speaks Archive
Buy Books
ARCHIVE HOMEMESSAGE BOARDREASONING FORUMARTICLESNEWS WEBLOG

Read Only : Rastafari Speaks Reasoning Archives

Rastafari Speaks Archive 1

Re: African People Must Nourish Pan Africanization

Greetings!

Firstly, I must say I believe the premise on which this African Union is built is FALSE: copied, as it is, after Western institutions … Hopefully, all these fake things will evolve to better things in days to come.

[I think the citizens of Afrika should be more analytical or critical of important decision- and policy-making institutions like the AU; …or aren’t they? I really don’t know!]

Nevertheless, I’m a layman here, but I think the African Union is (still) more of a ‘lame duck’ than anything else we may choose to call it. But there is hope, and new hope. It used to be called the OAU before of course, but is now the ‘African Union’ -- what that really means or whether that really makes a difference is yet to be seen. The OAU was ‘too bureaucratic’ and both under-funded and over-spending, they said. Therefore, the AU should be something more promising.

I think I can say our own political leaders -- (and the ordinary bureaucrats in the ‘defunct’ OAU itself, who used to ‘man’ that organisation’s business affairs, but even we: the ordinary Afrikan citizenry, that is, especially the educated “class”) -- are still heavily to blame for that, for the organisation’s numerous bitter failures to date, for its ultimate ‘crippledness’. Nevertheless, there is now still at least a faint ray of hope on the horizon, since the Union has been reorganised and assigned (itself) a New Agenda, with a wider scope (of looking at Things), new policies. At least that is what we are told.