Homepage
Rastafari Speaks Archive
Buy Books
ARCHIVE HOMEMESSAGE BOARDREASONING FORUMARTICLESNEWS WEBLOG

Read Only : Rastafari Speaks Reasoning Archives

Rastafari Speaks Archive

Re: Regarding 12 Tribes
In Response To: Regarding 12 Tribes ()

(i am new to TTOI and by no means a spokesperson, just giving me personal overastanding and not speaking for the organization)

So why do 12 Tribes call themselves "Rasta" when they are more like followers of the EOC?

(I call myself a Rasta because it is through
(Ras Ta)fari Makkonnen that Jesus Christ was revealed to me. His Biblical Lineage, His holy throne which he and others held, will hold for the return of Christ, and his awesome life and example
of how to live.We say greetings through the Orthodox Faith(our Selassie's faith), but not caught up in the writs rights nor vows of that church. no idol worship, incence burning, buying your way into heaven in a collection plate etc...)

Don't get me wrong, I have no "problem" with this "prophet" Dr. Carrington (although I do have a problem with doctors) and I have no problem with the EOC (obviously). But why call yourselves "Rastafarian" if Ras Tafari is not your God?
(Thanks for not dissing Gadman like many on this board do, see above for why i'm a rasta)

Did followers of Malcolm X call themselves Malcolmian? No.

But followers of ras (duke) tafari (makonnen)
DO call themselves rastafarian. And while we respect the words out of his own mouth that he was not God and its wrong to deify man.we still hold him in highest esteem and base our movement name on his. also keep in mind when Bob Marley was a member of Israel, before his wife had him baptized
in his last days he would say selassie is God Almighty w/out apology. so this mentality existed and exists today amongst members. i only hope they can learn more about what Haile selassie I said about this and what Gadman said on his 1st interview in 30 years.

They were MUSLIMS who followed the guidance of Malcolm X.